Best Carrot Cake EVER!

This is the only picture I could find of this cake. When I made it, I did one double layer cake and then a separate single layer cake. It is usually much bigger.

This is the only picture I could find of this cake. When I last made it, I did one double layer cake and then a separate single layer cake. It is usually much bigger.

Serves: 16 …it’s a BIG cake
Prep Time:  1 hour and 30 minutes to prep, 1 hour to cook.
Author: some lady named Nan but I found this on allrecipes

Note: This really and truely is one of the best carrot cakes I have ever eaten. It’s pretty and oh so perfect if you like carrot cake. I know it is pretty involved-but good desserts often are! I can tell you it is absolutely worth it.

Ingredients:
6 C grated carrots
*you can do it yourself or cheat and buy the shredded matchstick carrots
1 C brown sugar -I like dark brown
1 C raisins
4 eggs
1 1/2 C white sugar- I use “Bakers Sugar”
1 C vegetable oil
2 t pure vanilla
1 C crushed pineapple, drained
3 C all-purpose flour
1 1/2 t baking soda
1 t salt
4 t ground cinnamon
1 C chopped walnuts

1. In a medium bowl, combine grated carrots, raisins and brown sugar. Set aside for 60 minutes.

2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 3 9-inch cake pans.

3. In a large bowl, beat eggs until light. Gradually beat in the white sugar, oil and vanilla. Stir in the pineapple. Combine the flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon, stir into the wet mixture until absorbed. Finally, stir in the carrot and raisin mixture-add the walnuts. Pour evenly into the prepared pans.

4. Bake for 35-40 minutes in the preheated oven, until cake tests done with toothpick. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan. When completely cooled, frost with cream cheese frosting.

Leave a Reply

