Italian Sausage Soup a.k.a. Pasta e Fagioli

Pasta E Fagioli...or the next best version!

Serves: 6
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Author: from allrecipes and then a little change up from me

Ingredients:

1 lb mild Italian sausage
1 clove garlic, smashed
1/2 box (26 oz) Swanson Beef Cooking stock (33% less sodium)
1 can (14.5 oz) Italian-style Stewed tomatoes
1 C matchstick carrots
1 can (14.5 oz) great Northern beans, undrained
2 small (or 1 large) zucchini, diced
2 C baby spinach
1/2 C ditalini noodles

1. In a stockpot, brown sausage with garlic. Stir in broth, tomatoes and carrots. Season with salt and pepper. Reduce heat, cover and simmer about 15 minutes on medium-high heat.

2. Stir in beans with liquid, zucchini and noodles. Cover and let simmer another 15 minutes or until zucchini and noodles are tender.

3. Remove from heat, add spinach. Replace lid allowing the heat from the soup to cook the spinach leaves. Soup is ready to serve after 5 minutes.

**I gave this to my 11-month old and he ADORED it! The real test was the 4-year old…but he loved it too!

2 thoughts on “Italian Sausage Soup a.k.a. Pasta e Fagioli

    • Thanks Deb! Um, I’ve had restaurant ambitions probably since my early twenties. It used to be more of a joke, but it becomes more of a dream the older I get. I don’t invest in it in a lot of ways, but it’s something very fun for me. I don’t want to do it until I’m in my 50’s, but it would be so fun! Glad you like it and hope you like some of the recipes too! Oh, I want to put your little cream cheese ‘n brown sugar dip on here..that is so yummy!

Leave a Reply

