Chicken Foil Packs

Serves: 4 plus some leftovers
Prep Time: less than 15 minutes to prepare and about 35-40 minutes to cook
Author: I have no idea! My mom sent me the recipe and I’m not sure where she found it. But…I did tweak it, as usual

Ingredients:

4 boneless, skinless, chicken breast
French’s yellow mustard
Basil
Paprika
Garlic powder
salt and pepper to taste
Asparagus, about 6-8 spears with the woody stems removed
1/2 red onion cut into large chunks, then separate with fingers
1 small zucchini, sliced
1 small yellow squash, sliced
white, button mushrooms, 6 or so, sliced
EVOO

1.  On a plate, season the chicken breasts with the garlic powder, salt, pepper, paprika and basil and squirt a bit of yellow mustard (just zig-zag it-but don’t go too crazy with it) on top. Flip ’em over and do the same to the other side.

2. Measure out 4 large pieces of foil. Squirt or pour a little EVOO in the middle of the foil pack, then place a chicken breast on top of the EVOO. Add the veggies on top (I seasoned my veggies with just a tiny bit of sea salt), then close it up and make a little pouch.

3. Place the tinfoil packets on a jelly roll pan (You might need the walls of the pan if they leak a bit) and place in the oven at 400 degrees F for 35 minutes. Let them sit up for about 5 minutes or so before you open them up.  Serve with brown rice or maybe some parmesan orzo or parmesan rice pilaf would be good too!

Note: These were super tasty and super easy. The chicken was really moist and everything had great flavor. The directions say you could grill this too, just lesson the time to 25 minutes. BTW! We served this to 3 children; a 4 year old, a 5 year old and a 2 year old and they ALL ate it without a single complaint. 😀

4 thoughts on “Chicken Foil Packs

  1. Adeliz says:

    This is such a great blog I loved reading all your recipes, espeacially deserts. Can’t wait to try the Carrot Cake one! Your my hero with everything you try to accomplish while Jeremy is gone. Can’t wait to read more recipes. I’ll be in here from time to time to catch all the new yummy stuff you’ve added!!!

    • Thanks Adeliz! Let me know what you think of the Carrot Cake. I’m sure you can make it look much fancier than me with all your fancy-schmancy decorating skillz! Glad you stopped by!

  2. Kristin says:

    Hi, Tiffany!
    I’ve been reading your blog for awhile (I’m one of those “lurkers” I guess!). I just wanted to let you know that I tried these Chicken foil packs and LOVE them. It has never occurred to me to put mustard on the chicken…where have I been? The flavor of these was great, not to mention the ease of putting meat and vegetables all in one place and cooking them at one time. It was a great dinner! Thanks for sharing.

    I’m praying for you all during this difficult year. Your words just touch my heart and you and your boys are on my mind frequently.

    Kristin Williams

    • I’m so glad you liked them! I know! I was totally surprised when I made them how good they were. I never would have put that spice/flavor combo together. Thanks for your prayers and encouragement!
      Tiffany

Leave a Reply

