Quick Mexican Soup

Serves: 4-6
Prep and Cook Time: 35 minutes (or less)
Author: A Tiffany original!

Ingredients:

1 baked chicken breast, cut into pieces
1 can low fat black refried beans
1 can diced green chilis
1 can Mexican stewed tomatoes
1 t chopped garlic
3 C chicken broth (I used the DIY broth, so this is an approximation)

cheese, sour cream, avocado or chips for topping

1. If you are using a fresh chicken breast, coat a pan lightly with EVOO and sprinkle the chicken breast with adobo on both sides. Bake for 25 minutes at 350 degrees and shred immediately after you pull it out of the oven. (I used a chicken breast I had cooked the previous day this same way.)

2. To a stock pot, add the chicken broth, can of beans, can of tomatoes, can of green chiles, garlic and the chicken. Allow to simmer for 10 minutes and serve!

Note: This soup is light, full of flavor and really low in calories…unless you top it with a bunch of stuff. Go with light cheese or light sour cream or add some fresh salsa on top.

2 thoughts on “Quick Mexican Soup

  1. Julie Seward says:

    I made this tonight. I just used the chicken left over from the rotisserie one I bought a couple days ago. I also added a can of regular black beans because I had em’. The main reason I made this was because I had bought some fresh cilantro for a couple of other things I’ve made this week, and wanted to use the rest up. So I threw that in too. It was especially yummy.

Leave a Reply

