Start Your Own Food Revolution!

On Sunday night, a new show called “Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution” aired on tv. It was so great! If you haven’t watched it yet I highly recommend you check it out on Hulu. Here’s a link for ya!

The premise of the show is that Jamie has heard about how truly horrendous the American Public School systems lunch and other food item choices are and he’s trying to start a grass roots effort to change it. He’s had experience too; he did it in Britain with his “School Dinners” campaign.

As a Mom who is deeply concerned about what my kids put in their bodies, I am in love with this guy! I think it is so sad that he came up against so much oppression on that first episode of FR.  I don’t understand how American’s can hear all the time that we are the FATTEST nation in the world and that fact not give us/them pause?

I remember VIVIDLY how livid my mother was when I came home with the lunch calendar as a freshman in high school one afternoon. The next day’s lunch choice was “Pretzel Puffs with Cheese Sauce”. No kidding! That was the ENTREE for the lunch that day! Processed bread with processed cheese. Yummo? GROSS! I brought my lunch most of the time and I remember people oohing and aahing my lunch. Well, when you’re alternative is processed bread and “cheese” product, who wouldn’t?

I have struggled with my weight since I was 12 years old. It’s not easy for someone who loves food to not go overboard with their weight. I’ve undergone major change in our diet since moving to Washington almost four years ago. I am a huge fan of Farmer Co-ops, I am a regular visitor of my local and fresh farmer’s markets from May to September (’cause that’s when they are open!) and I am continuously trying to reduce/erradicate our intake of processed foods.  I read labels! I do the best that I can with what we can afford and our fridge is always stocked with fresh fruits and veggies.

When my children, both boys, grow up, I want them to naturally make good choices for themselves and to ENJOY those good choices. I involve my kids in the kitchen and all I do there and I make dinner EVERY NIGHT for us. (We eat out between 2-3 times a month depending on just life and finances.) My husband is currently deployed and it has been a challenge for me to keep that up, but I’ve learned a lot of new tricks and it has turned into a (mostly) fun experience. We also play outside together as a family as much as possible.

So, if you know that it’s time for you to start a food revolution, than start it in your own home! Check out Jamie Oliver’s show or website for some startling facts and some helpful hints and how you can make a change for the better! (Even if you or your family are picky eaters.)

It’s a fact that our kids could live shorter lives than us if we don’t invest in them and ourselves right now!

Leave a Reply

