What to Cook for Dinner: Recipe #1

All this week I am cooking a new recipe for dinner each night! (Well, every night that we are actually home, which we weren’t on Monday.) Last night, we tried out Real Simple’s “Chicken Pot Pie Empanadas“.

We liked them! Though…I guess Real Simple considers anything in a breaded pocket an Empanada…’cause to us it was like Chicken Pot Pie Pockets… CP3? He he he he he…here’s how they looked:

Chicken Pot Pie Empanadas...partially eaten!

They were pretty easy to prepare too. I had one pie crust that I got out of the freezer (home made from Grandma when she visited last month!) and then I had to supplement the rest with store bought. The store bought one looked a little prettier, but they both tasted yummy.

Usually, when I make my chicken pot pie, I like it creamy with lots of goo. So I usually add cream cheese or 1/2 and 1/2 or even whipping cream when I make the base. This one didn’t have that (just butter and chicken broth and flour), so it was much lighter than I thought it would be.

All in all, it seemed like it was going to be a heavy dinner, and it really was quite light! We had it with a green salad and a fruit salad (raspberries and pears sprinkled with cinnamon!). Jeremy said that he liked them and they are “make again” good. So there you are!

Here are a few more pics of the preparations.

The filling for the pies, um...I mean Empanadas

pre baked glory...you can see the difference in the crusts

So  yum for the first recipe! We’ll have to add this to the fall rotation for sure. If you try it for your family, tell me what you think!

2 thoughts on “What to Cook for Dinner: Recipe #1

Leave a Reply

