Cheesy Chicken and Broccoli Pocket

My friend Nicole has a fun cooking website that I love to check out! She has 3 little boys who I dare say are as picky, if not more so, than my own 2 boys. That’s a relief! This recipe was actually inspired by her Chicken and Swiss Crescent Braid recipe. My husband does not eat mayo or mustard…ever…so I had to think a little differently. Below is my version.

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts seasoned with Adobo with pepper (if you aren’t familiar with this seasoning, add it to your pantry asap!) and baked until thoroughly cooked, then shredded
1 roll Pillsbury crescent recipe creations dough
2 T all purpose flour
1 C broccoli, steamed and cut into small pieces
1/3 C cream cheese
2 slices reduced-fat swiss cheese
1 T egg white (I used the stuff from the carton)

1. Preheat your oven according to the Pillsbury dough directions. (I forget how hot the oven was!) On a clean surface, scatter flour. Unroll dough from tin and then, using a rolling pin, stretch out until dough is roughly 1/4 inch thick.

2. Combine the chicken, cream cheese and broccoli until the cream cheese is smoothed out/without lumps. (My broccoli was still warm and the cream cheese was room temp when I combined.) Spread down the middle of the crescent dough.  Cut each piece of swiss cheese in half (triangle) and place 4 pieces down the roll.

3. Fold the left and right sides of the dough over the top of the filling, creating a pocket. You can roll the ends or fold them. Brush with egg whites and bake until brown and bubbly!

Nicole’s braid is way prettier, but this tasted good too!

 

Cheesy Chicken and Broccoli Pocket

 

 

Extreme close up 😀

 

One thought on “Cheesy Chicken and Broccoli Pocket

Leave a Reply

