Lighter Chicken and Biscuits

 

A chilly and foggy October morning in Washington state

 

Baby, it is cold outside! (Well, in Washington state it is anyway.) It’s been 37 degrees in the mornings here!

With all this cool in the air, I was recently hungry for something that was hearty and warm without being too heavy or calorie laden. I found this recipe from Martha Stewart and man is it good! I had to tweak it though…you see, I don’t like Thyme…it’s just icky to me. Bleah. So below is my little tweak and a picture of the tasty dish! It was quick to make too.

Ingredients:

3/4 C whole wheat flour
1/3 C plus 2 T all purpose flour (I use unbleached)
1 t baking powder
S & P
1/4 C egg whites (I used the kind you buy in a carton)
3 T plus 2 t EVOO
1 C low fat milk (+ a little more)
1/2 C chicken broth/stock
5 carrots, cut into small chunks
5 celery stalks, cut into thick slices
1/2 a white onion, diced
2 boneless, skinless, chicken breasts (seasoned with S &P) cut into small 1-inch pieces

1. Preheat oven to 450. In a medium bowl, whisk together the whole-wheat flour, 1/3 C all-purpose flour, baking powder and 1/4 t salt; set aside.

2. In a small bowl, whisk together egg white, 3 T EVOO and 1/4 C milk; add to flour mixture and stir until moistened. Drop four scoops of dough (1/4 C each-ish) onto a baking dish (Um…I used my silpat for this one). Bake around 12 minutes.

3. In a large skillet, heat 2 t EVOO over medium-high. Add carrots, celery and onions; season with S & P. Cook, stirring frequently, until veggies are tender (7-10 minutes).

4. Sprinkle veggies with remaining 2 T all purpose flour; stir in remaining 3/4 C milk and 1/2 C chicken broth. Simmer until liquid is thickened. *Mine thickened really quickly and I actually needed a bit more milk. I just splashed a bit in until it was a consistency I liked better. Add chicken, simmer until cooked through, 5 minutes. Serve chicken stew over biscuits.

 

Warm and delicious!

 

Notes: When I made the biscuits according to Martha’s recipe they were waaaaayyyy too wet. I added more whole wheat flour to my version of the recipe. Also, I think the only spice I added to the stew was a bit of garlic powder…maybe one teaspoon??? It was actually really yummy just with the salt and pepper. I also vaguely remember throwing in a tablespoon of unsalted butter with the EVOO when the veggies were cooking… Taste as you go to adjust the seasoning to your liking!

Leave a Reply

