Greek Style Skillet Supper

This week, I made a recipe that I’ve tried only once before, but couldn’t remember how well the family and I had liked it last time. The recipe is from McCormick seasonings and is a bit different, but oh so good! I tweaked it just a tinge so here is my version.

Ingredients:

1/2 lb ground beef (I prefer it with ground turkey!)
1/2 cup chopped onion (I used yellow)
1 can (14 1/2 oz) beef broth
2 C whole wheat penne pasta, uncooked (I cooked it just a scooch before hand…say 3 minutes in boiling water)
1 can (14 1/2 oz) diced tomatoes
1 1/2 C fresh green beans, rinsed and trimmed
1 small can tomato paste (I think they are 4 oz or less)
2 t Oregano
1/2 t ground cinnamon (yes, cinnamon!)
1/2 t garlic powder
3/4 C crumbled feta cheese, divided

Directions:
1. In large skillet, brown beef with onion over medium-high heat. Drain fat.
2. Return to skillet, add broth and bring to a boil. Stir in pasta. Return to boil and simmer, covered, 8 minutes.
3. Stir in tomatoes, green beans, paste and spices. Return to boil. Stir in 1/2 C feta. Simmer uncovered, 7 minutes or until sauce thickens slightly. ( I actually added a can of water to my version because it was so thick.) Sprinkle with remaining cheese and serve.  Makes 6 servings.

Tasty and healthy Greek Skillet

Leave a Reply

