The Douglas Family “Taco” Salad

I love Mexican food. But when I make it, I never know what to serve with it beyond the standard rice and beans. This recipe is my go-to summer fare whenever I make a Mexican inspired dish because it is light and goes well with just about anything! It is a recipe that I grew up with and I’ve never really seen anywhere else.

Ingredients:

2-3 Cups hand-shredded lettuce (I like to use green leaf, Romain, or even baby spinach)
1 Can Red beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup shredded cheddar or Monterey jack cheese (Pepper Jack is good too)
1 small can sliced black olives, drained and rinsed (optional)
1/4 C chopped fresh cilantro
1/2 C chopped tomatoes (try using multiple varieties for color)
1 avocado, chopped
1 small bag lightly salted or reduced fat Fritos
French dressing

1. Clean, drain, and rinse all your veggies. Make sure you dry your lettuce well. Overly wet lettuce makes this salad less visually appealing.

2. In a large bowl, combine the dry lettuce with the other veggies. If you are serving immediately you can toss 1-2 cups of Fritos in this salad. However, if you are not serving it ASAP, put the Fritos in a bowl to the side. When you are ready to serve, toss together or let people “build it” themselves, putting the Fritos on the bottom and the salad on top. Serve with French dressing. You can even make it yourself by clicking on this link!

Funny Note: My best friend in WA is half Puerto-Rican. She teases me about certain recipes in my repertoire by referring to them as “white-people food”. This one definitely counts as such, but it is really good! Therefore, I claim no ethnicity with this dish other than my own family recipe that we love.

2 thoughts on “The Douglas Family “Taco” Salad

  1. Crystal says:

    Hahahaha, any recipe that you use a bag of chips is just white people food:) But I’m sure it’s good and that’s ok, you aren’t Puerto Rican, just me.

Leave a Reply

