P3 (That’s Puff Pastry Pizza!)

I tried a little something new for a pizza crust this week; puff pastry dough sheets! The crust was light and flaky and wasn’t as heavy or filling as regular pizza.  Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:
1 box (2 sheets) frozen puff pastry dough, defrosted 40 minutes
1 can Italian stewed tomatoes, pureed
1 package Italian Blend shredded cheese
1/2 cup Romano shredded cheese
real bacon pieces
sun dried tomatoes
fresh basil
sliced button mushrooms
grilled chicken, shredded or chopped

1. First, I opened up the puff pastry dough packaging and pulled the two doughs apart from one another. I let them warm up on the counter for about 40 minutes.

2. I grilled my chicken and cooked the mushrooms and sun-dried tomatoes for just  a few minutes once I pulled the chicken off the skillet. I shredded the chicken into small pieces and I cheated and used already cooked, pre-packaged REAL bacon pieces.

3.  On a lightly floured surface, unfold one piece of dough. Lightly cover with flour and roll out so that it is a scooch longer and thinner. Then pierce the dough all over with a fork. Transfer to a cookie sheet (I put parchment paper down because I don’t like to clean if I don’t have to) and bake as directed (I think it’s 350) for about 10 minutes. The dough will puff up like a big pillow but don’t worry. The dough will deflate when you take it out of the oven.

4. After the dough was baked, I pureed my italian stewed tomatoes and topped the crust with the “sauce”. I then added a few spices to the sauce; salt, pepper and some garlic powder. Next time, I will add some fennel. Begin to build your pizza with your toppings. Once you have it how you like it, pop it in the oven for just about 10 minutes to allow the cheese to melt. Voila! Fun and crusty pizza.

P.S. I made a cheese pizza for the kids since I knew they wouldn’t like my concoction!

2 thoughts on “P3 (That’s Puff Pastry Pizza!)

    • pictures make it more fun somehow, huh? i need to go back and add pictures to my other recipes. I keep making those dishes and forgetting a picture! i’m craving those chicken packets with mango and ginger…mmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

