“Marcy’s Legendary Chocolate Chip Cookies”

I stink at making beautiful cookies. It’s getting better as I learn more…and these cookies are evidence of the fact!  This recipe is from a book my sister gave to me several years ago called, “A Passion for Baking” by Marcy Goldman. I am pretty sure I’ve never made anything from this book. It’s a total travesty but you see, these recipes are so very bad for you. Whew people….I don’t even want to KNOW the calorie content. Decadent, amazing…sinful. These are the recipes in this book.

While reading this book the other night, I learned about “spread”. This is how your cookie bakes basically and spreads out. I loathe it when my cookies get all flat as pancakes. I’ve heard to up the flour content by a few tablespoons and to chill the dough. I tried both with this recipe today. Check ’em out! Think “bake-sale-worthy-giant-cookies”.

Ingredients:

1 Cup unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 Cups firmly packed brown sugar (I used dark)
1/4 Cup white sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla (I used 2)
2 Large eggs
1 egg yolk
2 1/2 Cups all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 Cups semisweet chocolate chips
1 1/2 Cups Lindt chocolate chips (I just used what I had on hand for chocolate chips)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Arrange rack to upper third position.

2. Cream butter and sugars until well blended. Add vanilla, eggs, and egg yolk. Fold in flour, baking soda, salt and chocolate chips. If batter seems soft and greasy, add 2-4 Tablespoons more flour. You can also chill the dough for 10 minutes.

3. Scoop into large balls of dough (7-8 oz each or 1 cup each) and place 2-3 inches apart.

4. Bake 20-24 minutes or until cookies are nicely browned on top and set-up looking. Let cool 15-20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

