Banana Bread

I don’t know about you, but I’m picky about Banana Bread. Really picky. I feel it is completely necessary that something is on top of the bread for starters; a crumble crust, some sort of sugar/cinnamon combo, etc. I also feel it should not be rubbery or dry. I mean, it’s baked with bananas for crying out loud!

I’ve been on the hunt for a really solid recipe for years and this weekend, I found it!

Yummy Banana Bread

Its out of the same book as those amazing and giant chocolate chip cookies I made a few weeks ago, “A Passion for Baking” by Marcy Goldman. This book is becoming one of my favorites. Everything is just so good! So here ya go, one of the best recipes I’ve made…and I’ve tried a LOT of ’em.

Old-Fashioned Fragrant Banana Bread

Ingredients:
1/2 Cup unsalted butter, softened
1 Cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 Cup mashed very ripe banana (I used exactly 2 bananas)
1/4 Cup sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 Cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

*1 Tablespoon ground cinnamon
*1 Tablespoon sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Generously spray a 9×5 inch loafpan with nonstick cooking spray. (I used my nylon loaf pan and loved the results!) Place pan on a parchment-lined baking sheet.

In a small bowl, combine 1/4 cup sour cream with 1/2 teaspoon baking soda; stir and set aside. (This was a step that is not in the original recipe book. I just love the results…)

In a mixer bowl, cream butter and sugar until well-blended. Add eggs, banana, sour cream/baking soda mixture and vanilla. Fold in flour, baking powder and salt, scraping bowl often. Mix on low speed.

Spoon batter into pan. Combine cinnamon and sugar in a small bowl, then sprinkle ALL OF IT on the top of the bread. (This was also not in the original recipe…just trust me!) Bake until bread springs back, 50-55 minutes. It may have a crack in the center. It’s ok…If bread seems not quite done, reduce temp to 325 and give it an additional 10-15 more minutes. **I did NOT need to do this but I think that depends on the pan you use**

Cool for 20 minutes before turning out on a wire rack to continue cooling.

P.S. Marcy recommends adding walnuts and even chocolate chips…but I’m a purist. Do what you will!

Leave a Reply

