Chicken with Mustard Cream Sauce

Saw this on Pinterest and had to try it. It was very easy and so delicious! I made a few minor tweaks to the ingredients/process: I added white pepper to the seasoning for the chicken and used oregano instead of tarragon (because that’s what I had and it suggests that as a substitute) and I pounded out my chicken breasts. It makes for such tender chicken! I also started using Grapeseed Oil in place of EVOO. I’ve just heard so much about cooking EVOO at high temps and how it makes it a trans fat…which is no good!

Pinned Image

Chicken with Mustard Cream Sauce

Ingredients:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts pounded to about 1/2 inch thickness
2 T Grapeseed Oil/Coconut Oil
Salt to taste
White Pepper to taste
1 teaspoon dried oregano (or tarragon)
1/4 Cup chicken broth
1/2 Cup heavy cream
2 T dijon mustard

Directions:

1. Add Grapeseed Oil to a large skillet and preheat over medium-high heat. Season chicken breasts with salt, white pepper and oregano. Add chicken to skillet and saute until cooked through, 10-12 minutes (juices should run clear), turning ONCE.  Note: I like to cook the chicken until it is just shy of being done, then transfer to a warm oven and let it finish. This maintains the juiciness of the chicken and keeps a little bit of a crispness to the outside while I make the sauce and finish the rest of the dinner.

2. Whisk the cream and mustard into the same skillet the chicken was just removed from. Cook and stir for about 2 minutes.

I kept the sauce separate because I have picky eaters around here. I like lots of sauce, my hubby likes just a drizzle, one kiddo likes to dip and the other doesn’t want ANY sauce (the third is too little to have an opinion yet).

I paired this with steamed broccoli and some basmati rice from Trader Joes that I doctored up (with spinach!).

One thought on “Chicken with Mustard Cream Sauce

Leave a Reply

