Cranberry Orange Steel Cut Oats

I’ve been bored with my breakfast lately. So much so that I often just grab a banana or something else that’s quick. This is not filling me up enough to make it until lunch and then that annoys me even more! In my hunt for some quality calories (that taste good) I found this recipe on good ol’ Pinterest.

I didn’t have all of the ingredients needed for the recipe so I had to adjust a bit. Here’s what I came up with:

Cranberry Orange Steel Cut Oats

Cranberry Orange Steel Cut Oats

3 cups water
1 cup milk
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1 cup steel-cut oats (I used Trader Joe’s Quick Steel Cut Oats)
1/4 teaspoon salt
zest of one orange and juice of one orange
1 bag of Craisins
1 tablespoon pomegranate balsamic vinegar

Instructions
In a large saucepan, bring the water, milk and coconut oil to a simmer over medium heat.
Stir the oats into the simmering water/milk/oil mixture. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer gently for about 20 minutes, until the mixture is very thick.
Stir in the salt. Continue to simmer the mixture, stirring occasionally, until almost all of the liquid is absorbed, about 10 minutes. The oatmeal should be very creamy at this point. Stir in the orange zest, juice, craisins, and the balsamic vinegar and let the oatmeal stand for 5 minutes before serving.
Portion into bowls and enjoy with some pecans or walnuts

*I did NOT think this needed any sugar added. However, I do prefer things to be unsweetened. So if you know you like your oatmeal sweet, than you will definitely need some sweetener with this. Honey and cinnamon would be good or if you’ve recently picked it up, try some coconut sugar! It’s delightful!

Leave a Reply

