Chocolate Greek Yogurt Cupcakes!

I went poking around on Pinterest today for a chocolate cupcake recipe that used greek yogurt. This is the recipe I stumbled upon! I altered 3 things about it: 1) I used plain greek yogurt 2) I added one packet of Starbucks Via instant coffee and 3) I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I already have a chocolate buttercream frosting that I threw in the freezer after making waaaaay too much for a cake (the recipe is below and I posted it as 1/2 of the original). So it is defrosting now. I’ll let you know how they turn out!

In the mean time…eat cake!

  • 6 oz plain greek yogurt (I used Fage)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 packet instant coffee (I used Starbucks Via)
  • 1 cup whole wheat white flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (see how I make mine here using 1 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar + 1/2 cup skim milk)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup boiling water

** UPDATE! Pardon the grainy picture…but Oh.My.Lanta were these great cupcakes! I already have mentioned the recipe and my tweaks. But what really added to these sweet little loves was the chocolate buttercream frosting. MMmmmmm!

Chocolate goodness

Chocolate goodness

Chocolate Buttercream (original recipe is for vanilla buttercream and is linked) This recipe below is half of the original. Cause that’s a TON of frosting…

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup room temp salted butter (1.5 sticks)
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate cocoa (hershey’s special dark)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup vegetable shortening
  • 4 cups sifted powdered sugar (1 lb)
  • 1/4 cup milk

How to Make

  1. Cream butter and shortening together until smooth, approx 3 minutes using a paddle attachment.
  2. Slowly add sugar and cocoa, once all added crank up speed on mixer to med- high and whip it up for approx 1 min.
  3. Add milk, depending on your liking: stiffer~ less milk, creamier ~ more. If you add too much, no worries, just sift in a little more sugar.
Leave a Reply

